Great Lakes Basin Program for Soil Erosion & Sediment Control
BackgroundPublicationsToolsSearch ProjectsGrant ReportingApply for Grants
Home advanced search

Subscribe
Subscribe to the KIOTL e-list to receive news and announcements:

Enter your e-mail address:

Comments/Questions?
Contact Gary Overmier at garyo@glc.org.

Our Task Force members represent all Great Lakes states.

Need to use a Basin Program logo? Download them here.

Announcing the Great Lakes Basin Program Grant Projects for 2008

This fiscal year, the Great Lakes Basin Program for Soil Erosion and Sediment Control awarded 17 grant projects. Due to the lack of Congressional funding for the grants program in 2007, the selection process for the 2008 grants was modified. The Task Force Selection Committee chose the top rated small-scale grant proposals (up to $40,000 in funding per project) from the list of grant applicants originally filed for the 2007 grant year. No new grant proposal requests were submitted in 2008. The amount awarded to 2008 grant projects totals $354,034.

2008 Grant Projects
Each number corresponds to individual projects.

Illinois: 1 Project

1. Building BMP Capacity in Kellogg Creek-Dead River Watersheds
$10,000
Lake County Stormwater Management Commission (SMC)
Ms. Patricia Werner, pwerner@co.lake.il.us

Indiana: 2 projects

2. St. Joseph River Bank Stabilization Project
$40,000
Sisters of the Holy Cross
Mr. Tom Stimson tstimson@cscsisters.org

3. Adams County Agricultural Runoff Reduction Project
$40,000
Adams County SWCD
Mr. John Friedt john.friedt@IN.nacdnet.net

Michigan: 3 projects

4. St. Joseph River Watershed Soil Erosion/Sediment Control Project
$12,459
Hillsdale Conservation District
Ms. Robin Ryan, robin.ryan@mi.nacdnet.net

5. Rocky River Erosion and Sediment Control Project
$18,389 St. Joseph County Conservation District
Mr. Daniel Stanaway, dan.stanaway@mi.nacdnet.net

6. Upper Black River Bio-Erosion Control
$23,700
Huron Pines
Mr. Patrick Ertel, patrick@huronpines.org

Minnesota: 2 projects

7. Miller Creek Gully Erosion and Sediment Control Project
$21,145
South St. Louis SWCD
Mr. Nathan Schroeder, nathan.schroeder@southstlouisswcd.org

8. Sediment Reduction From Winter Road Maintenance
$9,903
Minnesota Erosion Control Association
Ms. Connie Fortin, connie@fortinconsulting.com

New York: 3 projects

9. Reducing Agricultural Erosion and Sediment in the Oak Orchard Watershed
$33,250

Orleans County Soil & Water Conservation District
Mr. James Kingston, james.kingston@ny.nacdnet.net

10. Reducing Agricultural Soil Loss in Onondaga County, NY
$40,000
Skaneateles Lake Watershed Agricultural Program
Mr. Mark Burger, mburger@ocswcd.org

11. Sensitive Site Erosion Control
$18,620
Yates County Soil & Water Conservation District
Mr. James Balyszak, ycswcd@rochester.twcbc.com

Ohio: 3 projects

12. Erie County Naturescaping Education Project
$10,000
Erie SWCD
Mrs. Breann Hohman, bhohman@erie-county-ohio.net

13. Chagrin River Education Project
$18,942
Geauga Soil and Water Conservation District
Mrs. Carmella Shale, cshale@geaugaswcd.com

14. Saving Soil on Continuous Corn
$24,145
Conservation Action Project
Mr. Todd Hesterman, hester@henry-net.com

Pennsylvania: 1 project

15. Best Management Practices for Agricultural Producers along Lake Erie and its Tributaries
$6,448
Pennsylvania Sea Grant
Ms. Marti Martz, mam60@psu.edu

Wisconsin: 2 projects

16. Baird Creek Sediment and Erosion Control Project
$17,033
Glacierland Resource Conservation & Development
Mr. Jack Van Dixhorn, glacierlandrcd@aol.com

17. Landowner Self Help Sediment Reduction Education On The West Twin River
$10,000
Manitowoc County Soil & Water Conservation Dept.
Mr. Jerry Halverson, jerryhalverson@co.manitowoc.wi.us

Great Lakes Commission des Grands Lacs.  2805 S. Industrial Highway, Suite 100.  Ann Arbor, MI  48104-6791.  phone: 734/971.9135.  fax: 734/971-9150.  www.glc.org. GLIN Partner